New Tracks: Carly Rae Jepsen – ‘Wildflowers’ & ‘Sweet Impossible Love’

E MO TION’ is the album that just keeps on giving! Months after its release, people are still fawning over Carly Rae Jepsen’s latest album and finding every way possible to keep it alive. Today, some new ammo was delivered to Jepsen’s loyal army in the form of leaked demos from the ‘E MO TION’ sessions to be their #JusticeForEMOTION mission going.

Let’s be clear – these demos are rough in every sense of the word and both had every right to be left on the cutting room floor. The songs that made the final version are far superior to both of these.

The first demo, ‘Wildflowers’, feels a bit dated. There’s a slightly dubby chorus that feels a bit cheap for Carly. The first half of the song has a bit of weight to it, but once we reach the halfway mark it’s all work getting through the end of the song.

Sweet Impossible Love’, on the other hand, channels a more familiar sound that we’ve heard from Jepsen. The violins in the beginning are very reminiscent of ‘Call Me Baby’, but everything changes once we get into the chorus – we’re in full on club mode. It’s a weird amalgamations of sounds – very night and day. There’s something definitely here with this one. It would be interesting to hear the chorus fleshed out a bit more to carry that trance element throughout the entire song.

What do you think of these ‘E MO TION’ leftovers?

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *